Pervaiz Musharraf

Devolution plan of Musharraf

Devolution plan of Musharraf

After taking power in 1999, General Pervaiz Musharraf addressed the nation and presented his six-point agenda. The devolution plan was one of them, which was aiming decentralization of power. The aim of the plan was to rebuild and restore people’s trust in the government. Through the new elected local bodies, power would transfer to grass root level. The Local bodies system introduced by Musharraf had three tiers.

The devolution plan of Musharraf had three tiers

I. The lowest tier, the Union Administration was a corporate body covering the rural as well as urban areas across the whole District. It consisted of Union Nazim, Naib Union Nazim, and three Union Secretaries and other auxiliary staff.
II. The middle tier, the Tehsil, had Tehsil Municipal Administration headed by the Tehsil Nazim. The Tehsil Municipal Administration was entrusted with the functions of administration, finances, and management of the offices of Local Government and Rural Development, and numerous other subjects at the regional, Divisional, District, Tehsil, and lower levels.
III. District government consisted of Zila Nazim and District administration. District administration has consisted of District officers and Sub-officers at the Tehsil level.

Never Miss an Update
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

File Cart
error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!